FINAL

Ravenna Army Ammunition Plant Restoration Advisory Board (RAB) Meeting 11 December 2019

1. Call to Order

The Ravenna Army Ammunition Plant (RVAAP) Restoration Advisory Board (RAB) meeting for the Installation Restoration Program was called to order by Mr. Tom Tadsen, of Franklin Township at 6:00 p.m. Wednesday, December 11, 2019 at Camp James A. Garfield, 1438 State Route 534 SW, Newton Falls, OH 44444.

Meeting attendance was recorded as 15 members present, 5 excused absent and 3 unexcused absent. Public attendance was recorded at 3.

Tom Tadsen of Franklin Township asked if everyone received and had a chance to review the minutes from the last meeting. George Tompkins of Paris Township made a motion to suspend with the reading of the previous meeting's minutes and they be approved as printed. The motion was seconded by Ryan Shackelford, Portage County Representative. Tom Tadsen called the motion to question... "All those in favor please say 'Aye'," "All those opposed." There were no members opposed so the motion carried, and Mr. Tadsen announced the minutes were approved as printed.

2. General RAB Business

- 1. Tom Tadsen of Franklin Township announced the resignation of James DiPaola to the board members present. Mr. DiPaola's resignation letter was read to the board by the Administrator, Rebecca Shreffler. Discussion on replacing the Community Co-Chair was tabled to the end of the meeting.
- Sarah Lock, Paris Township, gave a presentation on the suggested revisions to the RVAAP RAB Operating Policy. To request a copy of the formal presentation please contact the RVAAP RAB Administrator at (330) 872-4411 or <u>rmshreffler@chenega.com</u>. Also PowerPoint slides of the presentation can be found at <u>www.rvaap.org</u>.

Following the presentation Tom Tadsen of Franklin Township asked the board if there was any further discussion. Consensus from the board was all suggested changes were acceptable and sufficient. No further edits were suggested by members present and there was no further discussion. Dan Spicer of Paris Township made a motion to accept all revisions to the Operating Policy as presented. Roy Martin of Freedom Township seconded the motion. Tom Tadsen called the motion to question... "All those in favor please say 'Aye'," "All those opposed." There were no members opposed so the motion carried, and Mr. Tadsen announced the Operating Policy revisions were accepted and adopted.

3. The next order of business was scheduling the next meeting. Tom Tadsen suggested next meeting be held in May and be a site tour. The board discussed dates and it was

FINAL

decided by those present to hold the meeting Wednesday 13 May 2020. The meeting will be a site tour and will possibly be held in the new Headquarters Building Conference room, Camp James A. Garfield, 8451 State Route 5, Ravenna OH. RAB Administrator Rebecca Shreffler will inform the board of further details closer to the meeting date as they become available.

4. Installation Co-Chair MAJ Shaun Robinson, OHARNG, reviewed options for filling the Community Co-Chair position vacated by the resignation of James DiPaola. Former Community Co-Chair Tom Tadsen offered to remain interim Co-Chair until the board selected a replacement. Other options discussed were 1.) Opening up nominations, board review and vote at a future meeting and 2.) Ryan Shackelford, Portage County Representative, accepting the position as runner-up to Mr. DiPaola in the last ballot vote.

James Mayer, Garrettsville Village, asked if Mr. Shackelford would consider taking the general public position also vacated by the resignation of Mr. DiPaola. Therefore, he could take the Co-Chair position as a general public member. This would settle the conflict of interest concerns with his appointment to represent Portage County. Mr. Shackelford thanked Mr. Mayer for the suggestion but respectfully declined.

Mr. Shackelford then nominated Sarah Lock for the position. Mrs. Lock accepted the nomination. Bill Steiner of Randolph Township brought a motion to the board to appoint Mrs. Sarah Lock as the RVAAP Restoration Advisory Board Community Co-Chair. The motion was seconded by Mr. James Mayer. Tom Tadsen called the motion to question... "All those in favor please say 'Aye'," "All those opposed." There were no members opposed so the motion carried, and Mr. Tadsen announced Mrs. Sarah Lock the new Community Co-Chair.

There were no further comments, discussion or general business topics.

The meeting was adjourned by Tom Tadsen at 6:54 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Rebecca Shreffler, RVAAP RAB Administrator